IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> MW server and Barb incompatibility???
M@ster of Dis@ster
post 05/24/07 3:01pm
Post #1


Colonel
Group Icon

Group: {MOB} Regs
Posts: 1153
Joined: February 16th 2006
Member No.: 1598
Xfire: Master0fDisaster



Think this was discussed before, but worth mentioning again. I tried the MW server a few times and had some fun, but then when I come back to Barb I get an error where it appears one of the MWCM files is conflicting. So I had to go and delete that file to load Barb.

Obviously, when our own servers are conflicting with one another, that is a problem. I've been saying in chat to a couple MW people "join us in Barb sometime" but if they have to quit COD, delete a file before coming in, knowing they will also have to redownload that file next time...well, obviously not too many people are going to go to that trouble for occasional forays away from their main server.

And maybe it would be easier to make the adjustment to the Barb server. If everyone who has ever played any servers with a recent MW mod can't get into Barb, that would hurt the BArb server a lot IMO. I know when I decide to zip around and try out other servers I never tried before, they get one chance...if it doesn't load because of some conflict I go to the next.

So, anyway, the big question is, can something be done?


--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UNDEAD 1
post 05/24/07 4:30pm
Post #2


Major General
Group Icon

Group: {MOB}
Posts: 2753
Joined: January 17th 2006
Member No.: 1540
Xfire: UNDEADJAMES



no computer genius here but what i had figured out for the base assault custom maps was -

make sure all your pak files are in the correct folder. my first problem was the the pak files were all over the place so i ran the clean up steel had provided us with.
also in you console where you have mp options , join game etc.. there's a mods key and as long as i selected the game type there (custom maps,awe,ax, etc) i had no problems joining any server.

try that mod because since Ive had no problems .


This post has been edited by UNDEAD 1: 05/24/07 4:31pm


--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
M@ster of Dis@ster
post 05/24/07 6:26pm
Post #3


Colonel
Group Icon

Group: {MOB} Regs
Posts: 1153
Joined: February 16th 2006
Member No.: 1598
Xfire: Master0fDisaster



QUOTE(UNDEAD 1 @ 05/24/07 6:30pm) *

no computer genius here but what i had figured out for the base assault custom maps was -

make sure all your pak files are in the correct folder. my first problem was the the pak files were all over the place so i ran the clean up steel had provided us with.
also in you console where you have mp options , join game etc.. there's a mods key and as long as i selected the game type there (custom maps,awe,ax, etc) i had no problems joining any server.

try that mod because since Ive had no problems .


Oh, I understand there might be "workarounds", but like I say, I go to join a server for the first time on a whim, I can't go in, I go to the next server. I don't try and figure out the website and go to it and find what fix I need to do.

However, if this is a really rarely problem specific to some quirk with my set-up, yes, feel free to ignore. But if it is common, like a similar problem which with on our "mixed" maps, I'd hope we'd invesitgate if there was a way to fix it on the server end.

So, I guess the question is, is this common, or is it just me?

p.s. Thanks for the advice anyway UNDEAD. If it is just me, I'll be sure to try your fix.


--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Angus Thermopyle
post 05/25/07 7:45am
Post #4


Second Lieutenant
Group Icon

Group: {MOB} Regs
Posts: 324
Joined: July 29th 2006
From: North Wales, Pa
Member No.: 1855



MOD i get an error too when I move from MW to Barb. I am not that wise in the ways of COD programming to know what files are conflicting or how my folders are set up (they are how the COD install did it AFAIK).

My work around is to exit COD and then launch COD again and go into Barb. That works with no problem. It is a simpler work around than deleting files, etc.

However, I do agree with you wholeheartedly that it is goofy that our own server mods conflict with each other in some way. I don't know what effort it would entail to search down and correct this bug so I can't say if it is worth it to fix. But I do think it should get a little thought.


--------------------
IPB Image

Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room.- Dr. Strangelove

I hear nothing, I see nothing, I know nothing! - Sgt Hans Schultz
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
steel
post 05/25/07 8:52am
Post #5


Colonel
*********

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 921
Joined: October 6th 2006
Member No.: 2051



Almost everytime you go from a modded server to another modded server, you will have conflicts... a file that needs to be removed or else exit the game and come back in which puts your game from the modded server's custom setup back to your plain game (remember, your coduo loads itself up into memory), so you are starting fresh.

I'll try to explain how much work it would be to change the Barb server itself. First, take Barb's modded files and put them in a separate folder, then add in the automated files that record times when the server is reset and modify them. And change the batch files that saves off the server logs and prepares them to have the server stats run on them. Then go into the utility that automatically controls the start/stop of the servers and change it to point to the new directory where I put the Barb modded files. Then go change the stats programs so they know where the logs are now kept. Then go to the html control files for that server and change them to the correct place for the Barb modded files. That's a brief synopsis, no doubt I'm missing a few things. Oh, and while I'm doing this work.. no Barb server, until it's finished and debugged... maybe a day, maybe several days. Might take me many days to get the stats working again, but that would be low priority to getting everyone on the server again.

And then, I'd have to make a write-up for here to tell eveyone who has played on Barb in the past, how to go clean-up their uo directories (taking everything about Barb out) before they can play on Barb again. And I know this would generate a boat-load of complaints, and some long-time Barb players might just give up and not try to get into Barb anymore. Also, this would generate problems moving from Barb to Tuch, until I did the same thing with the Tuch server, wow.






--------------------
[img][/img]
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
M@ster of Dis@ster
post 05/25/07 10:48am
Post #6


Colonel
Group Icon

Group: {MOB} Regs
Posts: 1153
Joined: February 16th 2006
Member No.: 1598
Xfire: Master0fDisaster



QUOTE(steel @ 05/25/07 10:52am) *

Almost everytime you go from a modded server to another modded server, you will have conflicts... a file that needs to be removed or else exit the game and come back in which puts your game from the modded server's custom setup back to your plain game (remember, your coduo loads itself up into memory), so you are starting fresh.

I'll try to explain how much work it would be to change the Barb server itself. First, take Barb's modded files and put them in a separate folder, then add in the automated files that record times when the server is reset and modify them. And change the batch files that saves off the server logs and prepares them to have the server stats run on them. Then go into the utility that automatically controls the start/stop of the servers and change it to point to the new directory where I put the Barb modded files. Then go change the stats programs so they know where the logs are now kept. Then go to the html control files for that server and change them to the correct place for the Barb modded files. That's a brief synopsis, no doubt I'm missing a few things. Oh, and while I'm doing this work.. no Barb server, until it's finished and debugged... maybe a day, maybe several days. Might take me many days to get the stats working again, but that would be low priority to getting everyone on the server again.

And then, I'd have to make a write-up for here to tell eveyone who has played on Barb in the past, how to go clean-up their uo directories (taking everything about Barb out) before they can play on Barb again. And I know this would generate a boat-load of complaints, and some long-time Barb players might just give up and not try to get into Barb anymore. Also, this would generate problems moving from Barb to Tuch, until I did the same thing with the Tuch server, wow.



Obviously, if it isn't easy and can cause more problems, don't bother. I was just trying to be helpful.


--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UNDEAD 1
post 05/25/07 12:04pm
Post #7


Major General
Group Icon

Group: {MOB}
Posts: 2753
Joined: January 17th 2006
Member No.: 1540
Xfire: UNDEADJAMES



listen guys , you only have to run the clean up once , which i think orders your files and gets rid of alot of others.you will have to download alot of the maps again but it deletes ones you havent played in eons and orders the pak files. even if you dont run the clean up check in your mod area prior to switching , it doesnt have to be this hard . when you go to your uo mp start up page where it says join a game, click mods-
my mod lists are-
awe_uo
ax
best custom
bulldogs
bulldogsnew
final_solution2
gfm
mobsniper
mwcm
switch it from mwcm to awe_uo and there should be no problem ,if there is a file is not in the mwcm folder(i think) which is what i found when playing best custom maps.once i orderd all my folders i can move from server to server with out manually changing.



--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 09/23/20 8:03am
Skin Designed by Canucks Fan Zone